Chamber of Commerce

P.O. Box 94, Lawson, MO 64062
816-200-2801 | Send Email
Join Us On

To promote and create an awareness of the Lawson Business Community.

Annual Membership Awards Dinner

Past-President Amy Kanning and Outgoing President Mark Claypole

The Lawson Chamber of Commerce held their annual membership dinner the evening of May 2nd at Mellon’s Community Banquet Hall. The annual event had over seventy-five in attendance. This year we were treated to music by Mary Russell, prior to meeting and during dinner. After an opportunity for networking, Lawson Chamber of Commerce President, Mark Claypole, opened the meeting; welcoming those in attendance and expressed thanks to Ronnie and Diana Mellon, and the new owners Susan and Paul Ryals, for donating the use of their facility again this year. Attention was drawn to the networking table and the many items donated for the silent auction. Mark thanked the committee for their work in setting up for the meeting and the silent auction.

His and Hers prepared a wonderful Buffet Dinner of Barbecued brisket, Herb roasted chicken, rolls, seasoned green beans, baked beans, Cheesy potatoes, mixed green salad, and a variety of desserts. President Mark Claypole led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance and Rev. Gary Ponder-Williams led the group in prayer. President Claypole highlighted the Chamber’s activities for the past year, to include several Ribbon Cuttings, the Patriotic Celebration, several Business After Hours, and the First Annual Chamber of Horrors.

Steve Sellers, City Administrator presented an update on the City’s activities, Clint Ross, High School Assistant Principal presented the Lawson R-XIV school update. Mark Claypole presented the Chamber Business of the Year award to Ronnie and Diana Mellon; Mellon’s Banquet Hall and Rustic Barn and Barrel. President Claypole also Presented the Chamber Volunteer of the Year award to Becky Harrold.

Thanks to the success of the first ever ‘Chamber of Horrors”, the Chamber could present two $ 1000 scholarships this year. This year’s recipients were Carley Chancellor and Maxwell Ross. President Mark Claypole and High School Principal, Scott Harrold presented the scholarships and comments.

President Mark Claypole recognized the outgoing Chamber members and thanked them for their service and presented gifts; Cress Hewitt, Roxann Shook, Michael Persell, Valerie Swearingin, and Past-President Amy Kanning. Members for the 2017-2018 year include, Kelley Uthe-President, President-Elect Darlene Staats, Past President Mark Claypole, School Representative- Roger Schmitz, City Representative- Steve Sellers, Dawn Pointer, Laura Montone-Secretary, Josh Thomas-EDC, Lacey Holder, Melissa Bartlett, Heather Busby, Gary Ponder-Williams, and Lindsey Enyeart.

Past-President Amy Kanning presented outgoing president Mark Claypole with a plaque and gift certificate, and praised him for his accomplishments during his tenure as President; most notably for the Chamber’s membership reaching 106.

Newly Installed President Kelley Uthe presented the closing remarks of the evening, highlighting some of the upcoming events for the next year; the Legislative Update Luncheon, August 9, 2017, at the Lawson Community Center. Members were then presented with the silent auction bids they won.

2017 Business of the Year
Mellon's Banquet Hall and Rustic Barn and Barrel

The First Annual Lawson Chamber of Commerce Business of the Year Award was presented to Ronnie and Diana Mellon at the Annual Membership Awards Dinner and Silent Auction, held at Mellon’s Community Banquet Hall, 2 May 2017.

Ronnie and Diana were recognized for their service and dedication to the Lawson Chamber of Commerce and the Lawson Community. They have offered their business venue to the Chamber for numerous functions over the years; to include the Patriotic Celebrations and the Annual Membership Awards Dinners. We are truly blessed to have Ronnie and Diana as loyal members of the Chamber of Commerce, and contributors to our community.

Becky Harrold, 2017 Volunteer of the Year

The First Annual Lawson Chamber of Commerce Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Becky Harrold at the Annual Membership Awards Dinner and Silent Auction, held at Mellon’s Community Banquet Hall, 2 May 2017.

Becky was recognized for her service to Lawson Chamber and Community; most notably for her work with the Chamber’s beautification committee on the L-Town Hillside Project. Becky organized this labor-intensive project, with volunteers from the Lawson community, Lawson Park Board, and Lawson High School student athletes. We are truly blessed to have Becky as a member of our Community!

Lawson High School $1,000 Scholarship Recipients

Carley Chancellor - Daughter of Chad and Tina Chancellor
Carley will be attending The University of Missouri in fall, studying Nursing.

Maxwell George Ross - Son of Clint and Kim Ross
Max will be attending Northwest Missouri State University in the fall, studying Mass Media, and playing Baseball.

Join Us On
© Copyright 2017, Lawson Chamber of Commerce, All Rights Reserved
Site Design